Winners of The PlayFestival 2016

PlayBuilders of Hawaiʻi Theater Company Announces Winning Plays, Director, and Actors of The PlayFestival 2016

PlayBuilders of Hawaiʻi Theater Company is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s PlayFestival at Kumu Kahua Theatre, as part of their Dark Night Series! Fourteen plays, written by both youth and adults, were presented at Kumu Kahua Theatre between Sunday, April 3rd and Tuesday, April 5th. The Festival is an annual event that has been organized by PlayBuilders of Hawaiʻi Theater Company over the past 5 years. For more information on The PlayFestival 2016, please go to or

Adult Division

Best Play: Shipment Day by Lorenzo DeStefano
Best Director: Bree Kale’a Peters
Best Actor: Will Ha’o
Best Actress: Kuulei Shafee

Youth Division

Best Play: Make it Home by Maddie Matthews
Best Actor: James Christensen
Best Actress: Jennifer Fachan


2016 Audience Appreciation Awards

Youth: Kansas City Pet Store by Sarah Wong
Adult: Ahi Wela by Marion Lyman-Mersereau


Adjudicators for this yearʻs event were lead by Rasa Fournier, Associate Editor/Sr. Writer, Art and Stage columnist, Dr. In the House Columnist, and Proof Positive Editor of MidWeek in the Honolulu Star-Advertiser. Other adjudicators were Professor Betty Burdock, drama instructor at Leeward Community College; Kemuel DeMoville, theatre manager of The Leeward Theatre; Ronald Gilliam, former PlayBuilderʻs Artistic Director and Asian Theatre PhD candidate; Wil Kahele of Kumu Kahua Theatre; Kevin Keaveny, a Poʻokela award winning actor and Yale School of Drama alumni; Ann Ogilvie, drama teacher at Kaiser High School and Diamond Head Theatre; and multi-Poʻokela Award winning actors, and sound designers Richard and Karen Valasek.